Series Educates Black Children About Little-Known Historical Figures

Milan: American history classes often start Black history with slavery

Manny Otiko
7 min readJan 6, 2021
Sakari Milan (Facebook)

Sakari Milan is a self-published author whose series, “The Tales of Camelia B” tells the story of a young African-American girl who travels through time to discover little-known stories about Black historical figures. In my conversation, we talk about the importance of Black people telling their own stories and how American schools often don’t portray history accurately.

Otiko: Where did you get the idea to write the book?

Milan: I have always felt a growing need to learn more about my heritage and history due to the lack of adequate and accurate representation of Black History throughout my education. Beginning in elementary school, I wanted to know more about my ancestors. I yearned to know who they were beyond slavery and what they did to contribute to the world and my future. The lack of information in the education curriculum saddened me and left me feeling void. Like so many, I continuously asked and searched to discover more than just a history of slavery and the civil rights movement — I always came up short.

Unfortunately, I was taught a limited version of my history, and my frustration continued to fester like an open wound. In…

--

--

Manny Otiko

Manny Otiko writes about race, politics and sports. He has been published in Salon and LA Weekly. Follow him on Twitter @mannyotiko.